What is FCC Compliance Testing certification for?

Federal Communication Commission (FCC) EMC compliance for North America


FCC EMC Compliance Testing for North America and associated countries


A brief description of FCC EMC compliance testing, approval & certification

Expansion: Federal communications commission

Effective region: Independent agency of the United states covering all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S territories.

Regulator: The Federal Communications commission is an independent agency of the United States government created by the congressional statute.

Legal Requirements: Mandatory

AC Mains supply: 120VAC 60Hz

Countries requiring the FCC marking

FCC Compliance Testing is mandatory for certain product groups within all 50 states, District of Columbia and the territories (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Marianas Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands).


FCC Logo | EMC Bayswater

EMC Bayswater offers a comprehensive testing service with our iOATS registered test site for radiated and conducted emissions.

We are capable of providing testing services when verification, Declaration of Conformity (DoC) or certification testing is required.

FCC Legal implications

Each product must be tested to the relevant applicable section of the Federal communications commissions rules at a registered and accredited test site. The federal communications commission requires products to meet the relevant emissions requirements section.

A local representative is required for declaration of conformance. Intentional radiators (Transmitters) must have the test report and associated technical documentation submitted to the Federal Communications commission or a designated TCB (Telecommunications Certification Body/Technical conformity body).

FCC Verification Process

EMC Measurements are taken to ensure that the equipment complies with appropriate technical standards. Submission of a sample or representative data to the FCC demonstrating compliance is not required unless it is requested by the FCC.

Devices subject to verification include Industrial, Scientific and medical (ISM) equipment, business class A computer equipment, TV, and FM receivers, etc. These devices shall be uniquely identified by the person responsible for marketing or importing the equipment within the United States.

FCC Certification Process

Certification is an equipment authorization issued by the Federal Communications Commission or by a designated Telecommunications Certification Body (TCB). Test reports should be submitted to a designated TCB for technical validity.

Devices that must be submitted to the FCC include Ultra Wideband; Software Defined Radio; new technology, etc.

Devices that must be submitted to a designated TCB are Computers and Computer Peripherals. An alternative is to test at a DoC laboratory, a cheaper and less complicated alternative.

The FCC Quick labeling Guide is excellent to quickly check your products labeling requirements. Please click the following link for information on the FCC labeling requirements and guidelines.

For EMC testing of Radio Frequency LED Lighting Products, please refer to the OET notice “FCC – Radio Frequency LED Lighting EMC Testing Notice“


Source: Courtesy of EMC Bayswater Melbourne, Australia